The NBA MVP Award, Hall of Fame

Here is the hall of fame with all the players who have won the Most Valuable Player award

Jokic col trofeo di MVP

The NBA MVP Race Award, which stands for Most Valuable Player, is one of the most prestigious honors in the NBA basketball world and is awarded each year to the best player of the Regular Season.

History of the NBA MVP Race

The MVP award was first awarded at the end of the 1955-56 season and was established in honor of Maurice Podoloff, the first commissioner and later president of the NBA from 1946 to 1963.

The first recipient of the MVP award was Bob Pettit of the St. Louis Hawks, who had an incredible season with an average of 25.7 points and 16.2 rebounds per game. Over the years, many other great names in the NBA have received this prestigious award. Among them are legends like Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, and LeBron James.

One of the most memorable moments in the history of the MVP award was when Michael Jordan won his fifth consecutive MVP in the 1997-98 season, finishing with an average of 28.7 points, 5.8 rebounds, and 3.5 assists per game, leading his Chicago Bulls to their third consecutive NBA title that season.

There have been some controversial moments in the history of the MVP award. For example, in the 1977-78 season, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar had an incredible season with an average of 24.6 points, 10.4 rebounds, and 4.6 assists per game. However, the MVP award was given to Bill Walton of the Portland Trail Blazers, who had an equally impressive season but with slightly lower statistics.

Who awards the MVP prize?

The NBA MVP award is not just a matter of statistics. The voters of the award, who are composed of a combination of NBA journalists and analysts, take into consideration many factors including the player’s ability to lead his team to success, his leadership on the court, and his importance to the team.

Who has won the most MVP in the NBA?

The player who holds the most MVP titles is Kareem Abdul-Jabbar with an impressive 6 titles, received between 1971 and 1980, leaving behind legends such as Bill Russell and Michael Jordan, who are tied at 5 (Most MVP Winners of all time).

List of NBA MVP Winners

1956Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks
1957Bob CousyBoston Celtics
1958Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1959Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks
1960Wilt Chamberlain Philadelphia Warriors
1961Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1962Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1963Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1964Oscar RobertsonCincinnati Royals
1965Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1966Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia 76ers
1967Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia 76ers
1968Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia 76ers
1969Wes UnseldBaltimore Bullets
1970Willis ReedNew York Knicks
1971Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks
1972Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks
1973Dave CowensBoston Celtics
1974Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks
1975Bob McAdooBuffalo Braves
1976Kareem Abdul-JabbarLos Angeles Lakers
1977Kareem Abdul-JabbarLos Angeles Lakers
1978Bill WaltonPortland Trail Blazers
1979Moses MaloneHouston Rockets
1980Kareem Abdul-JabbarLos Angeles Lakers
1981Julius ErvingPhiladelphia 76ers
1982Moses MaloneHouston Rockets
1983Moses MalonePhiladelphia 76ers
1984Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1985Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1986Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1987Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1988Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1989Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1990Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1991Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1992Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1993Charles BarkleyPhoenix Suns
1994Hakeem OlajuwonHouston Rockets
1995David RobinsonSan Antonio Spurs
1996Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1997Karl MaloneUtah Jazz
1998Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1999Karl MaloneUtah Jazz
2000Shaquille O’NealLos Angeles Lakers
2001Allen IversonPhiladelphia 76ers
2002Tim DuncanSan Antonio Spurs
2003Tim DuncanSan Antonio Spurs
2004Kevin Garnett Minnesota Timberwolves
2005Steve NashPhoenix Suns
2006Steve NashPhoenix Suns
2007Dirk NowitzkiDallas Mavericks
2008Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers
2009LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers
2010LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers
2011Derrick RoseChicago Bulls
2012LeBron JamesMiami Heat
2013LeBron JamesMiami Heat
2014Kevin DurantGolden State Warriors
2015Stephen CurryGolden State Warriors
2016Stephen CurryGolden State Warriors
2017Russell WestbrookOklahoma City Thunder
2018James HardenHouston Rockets
2019Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks
2020Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks
2021Nikola JokicDenver Nuggets
2022Nikola JokicDenver Nuggets
2023Joel EmbiidPhiladelphia 76ers

Other interesting facts about the most coveted personal award for every player:

  • Moses Malone is the only player to win the MVP award with two different teams in two consecutive seasons (the Sixers and the Rockets);
  • Steph Curry is the only player to win the MVP award unanimously, in 2016;
  • Derrick Rose was the youngest MVP in NBA history, winning the award at the age of 22 in 2011;
  • Karl Malone was the oldest MVP in NBA history, winning it at 35 years old in 1999;
  • Bill Walton and James Harden are the only players to have won both the Sixth Man of the Year award and the MVP;
  • Nikola Jokic, by winning the MVP award last season (and again this year), is the player selected with the lowest draft pick to win the MVP award (the 41st pick in the 2014 NBA Draft).

Related articles