Best NBA Point Guards Of All Time 

The NBA has seen its fair share of legends and among the myriad of positions on the court, the point guard appears to churn out more than any other

Steph Curry Kobe Bryant

The point guard is believed to be crucial to a team’s success as it is considered a truly dynamic position where the team’s offense is orchestrated.

Many point guards have etched their name in gold, inspiring their teams with breathtaking performances and touching ultimate glory along the way. We will journey through the annals of NBA history to bring you the greatest players who have left an indelible mark on the NBA from the point guard position.

Magic Johnson

The crown jewel in one of the finest teams in NBA history, Magic Johnson was the leader of the 80s LA Lakers team that won five rings. Blessed with irresistible charisma and an unparalleled basketball IQ, Johnson practically re-invented the point guard position.

Standing at 6’9”, Magic was a spectacular playmaker that boasted plenty of flash and panache. His uncanny ability to see moves ahead helped him orchestrate the Showtime Lakers to a lengthy period of dominance.

Of course, that period of dominance brought some individual accolades to Magic.  He is a three-time NBA MVP and Finals MVP and was an NBA All-Star 12 times, including 10 straight appearances between 1982 and 1992.

Nowadays, Johnson is a NBA ambassador and has in the past appeared on the NBA’s official podcast promoting some of the best NBA promotions.

Stephen Curry

Already ranked as one of the greatest players of all time, Steph Curry is another player who not only revolutionized the point guard position but also how the sport is played. He is considered one of the best shooters the NBA has ever seen and holds the record for the most three-point field goals made in history, the NBA regular season record for the most three-point field goals made in a season, among others

Curry’s incredible shooting prowess has sometimes overshadowed his playmaking ability which deserves more credit that it receives. He regularly puts up solid assist numbers and is often successful with spectacular passes that lesser players would have attempted.

The future Hall of Famer has led the Golden State Warriors to four NBA titles. He has also picked up two NBA MVP awards and eight All-Star appearances along the way.

John Stockton

The undisputed Pass King of the NBA, John Stockton perfected the art of assists. Despite retiring in 2003, he still holds the record for the most assists in NBA history at 15,806 (3,715 more than the second highest player.

Stockton was also adept at steals and holds the record in that department as well at 3,265. He formed a successful one-two punch with Karl Malone, leading the Utah Jazz to two NBA Finals appearances, although they lost both.

Despite never winning an NBA ring, Stockton’s status and legacy in the annals of NBA history is well cemented and he was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2009.

Chris Paul

Chris Paul is still in active duty as a NBA player on the Golden State Warriors roster, but has already earned his place in the discussion for the greatest point guards of all time. While other players alternate positions, he plays exclusively as a point guard, earning the nickname “the Point God”.

Paul prefers playing in the half court versus playing up-tempo and creates scoring opportunities by constantly changing speeds and beating his defender one-on-one. He has the ability to penetrate deep into the paint which leads to easy shots for his teammates, and in 2013, he was second in the league in assisted three-pointers.

He is third on both all-time lists for assists (11,542) and steals (2,552). Although he has never won the NBA title, he is a 12-time NBA All-Star, five-time NBA assists leader and six-time NBA steals leader.

Oscar Robertson

Widely regarded as one of the greatest NBA players of all time, Oscar Robertson was part of the team that brought the Milwaukee Bucks their first ever NBA title. In 1962, he played for 14 years for the Bucks and Cincinnati Royals, cementing his status in the annals of NBA history.

Although he was predominantly deployed as a point guard, Robertson was a triple threat, who could score inside, outside and was a devastating playmaker. He was the first (and only player in history besides Russell Westbrook) to average a triple double season.

Beyond the title with the Bucks in 1971, Robertson also claimed a number of individual accolades. He was named NBA MVP in 1964, a 12-time NBA All-Star and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1980.

Jason Kidd

Jason Kidd is widely regarded as one of the greatest point guards in NBA history with his impressive basketball IQ putting him in such hallowed company. His elite playmaking ability means he can make a flashy pass or simple play while also racking up the steals and defending at a high level.

Kidd became an adept shooter later on in his career and became renowned for his triple double prowess. Having played for teams like Dallas Mavericks, Phoenix Suns and New York Knicks, he is second on the all-time lists for assists (12,091) and steals (2,684).

Currently the Head Coach of the Mavericks, Kidd was a 10-time NBA All-Star and won the NBA title in 2018. He was also inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018.

Steve Nash

Steve Nash played 18 seasons in the NBA and went on to establish himself as one of the greatest point guards of all time. He was known for his ability to move the ball quickly and shoot off the dribble, including from beyond the arc.

Nash’s playmaking prowess was legendary as his up-tempo style of play, ball-handling skills and distribution ability made him a nightmare for defenses. He led the NBA in assists for five seasons.

Despite never winning the NBA title, Nash claimed several individual accolades. He was NBA MVP in 2005 and 2006 and was an eight-time NBA All-Star before being inducted to the Hall of Fame in 2018.

Related articles