List of NBA Champions from 1947 to 2022

The complete list of NBA Champions per year, from 1947 to 2022

NBA Champion Trophy

Basketball has been one of the most popular and beloved sports around the world, and the NBA has been at the forefront of the game for over seven decades.

Since its inception in 1947, the NBA has seen 30 different teams crowned as champions. From the Boston Celtics of the 1950s and 1960s to the Chicago Bulls of the 1990s, each decade has brought its own dominant team and superstar players.

In this article, we will take a look at the complete list of NBA Champions by year from 1947 to 2022 that lifted the famous Larry O’Brien Trophy.

NBA Champions by Year

YearChampionsRunner-upFinals MVP
2022Golden State WarriorsBoston CelticsSteph Curry
2021Milwaukee BucksPhoenix SunsG. Antetokounmpo
2020Los Angeles LakersMiami HeatL. James
2019Toronto RaptorsGolden State WarriorsK. Leonard
2018Golden State WarriorsCleveland CavaliersK. Durant
2017Golden State WarriorsCleveland CavaliersK. Durant
2016Cleveland CavaliersGolden State WarriorsL. James
2015Golden State WarriorsCleveland CavaliersA. Iguodala
2014San Antonio SpursMiami HeatK. Leonard
2013Miami HeatSan Antonio SpursL. James
2012Miami HeatOklahoma City ThunderL. James
2011Dallas MavericksMiami HeatD. Nowitzki
2010Los Angeles LakersBoston CelticsK. Bryant
2009Los Angeles LakersOrlando MagicK. Bryant
2008Boston CelticsLos Angeles LakersP. Pierce
2007San Antonio SpursCleveland CavaliersT. Parker
2006Miami HeatDallas MavericksD. Wade
2005San Antonio SpursDetroit PistonsT. Duncan
2004Detroit PistonsLos Angeles LakersC. Billups
2003San Antonio SpursNew Jersey NetsT. Duncan
2002Los Angeles LakersNew Jersey NetsS. O’Neal
2001Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ersS. O’Neal
2000Los Angeles LakersIndiana PacersS. O’Neal
1999San Antonio SpursNew York KnicksT. Duncan
1998Chicago BullsUtah JazzM. Jordan
1997Chicago BullsUtah JazzM. Jordan
1996Chicago BullsSeattle SuperSonicsM. Jordan
1995Houston RocketsOrlando MagicH. Olajuwon
1994Houston RocketsNew York KnicksH. Olajuwon
1993Chicago BullsPhoenix SunsM. Jordan
1992Chicago BullsPortland Trail BlazersM. Jordan
1991Chicago BullsLos Angeles LakersM. Jordan
1990Detroit PistonsPortland Trail BlazersI. Thomas
1989Detroit PistonsLos Angeles LakersJ. Dumars
1988Los Angeles LakersDetroit PistonsJ. Worthy
1987Los Angeles LakersBoston CelticsM. Johnson
1986Boston CelticsHouston RocketsL. Bird
1985Los Angeles LakersBoston CelticsK. Abdul-Jabbar
1984Boston CelticsLos Angeles LakersL. Bird
1983Philadelphia 76ersLos Angeles LakersM. Malone
1982Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ersM. Johnson
1981Boston CelticsHouston RocketsC. Maxwell
1980Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ersM. Johnson
1979Seattle SuperSonicsWashington BulletsD. Johnson
1978Washington BulletsSeattle SuperSonicsW. Unseld
1977Portland Trail BlazersPhiladelphia 76ersB. Walton
1976Boston CelticsPhoenix SunsJ. White
1975Golden State WarriorsWashington BulletsR. Barry
1974Boston CelticsMilwaukee BucksJ. Havlicek
1973New York KnicksLos Angeles LakersW. Reed
1972Los Angeles LakersNew York KnicksW. Chamberlain
1971Milwaukee BucksBaltimore BulletsK. Abdul-Jabbar
1970New York KnicksLos Angeles LakersW. Reed
1969Boston CelticsLos Angeles LakersJ. West
1968Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1967Philadelphia 76ersSan Francisco Warriors
1966Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1965Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1964Boston CelticsSan Francisco Warriors
1963Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1962Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1961Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks
1960Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks
1959Boston CelticsMinneapolis Lakers
1958St. Louis HawksBoston Celtics
1957Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks
1956Philadelphia WarriorsFort Wayne Pistons
1955Syracuse NationalsFort Wayne Pistons
1954Minneapolis LakersSyracuse Nationals
1953Minneapolis LakersNew York Knicks
1952Minneapolis LakersNew York Knicks
1951Rochester RoyalsNew York Knicks
1950Minneapolis LakersSyracuse Nationals
1949Minneapolis LakersWashington Capitols
1948Baltimore BulletsPhiladelphia Warriors
1947Philadelphia WarriorsChicago Stags

Most winning teams

The NBA team with the most championships are Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers, both winning 17 NBA Championships according to he report NBA Teams with the Most Championships.

At the moment, this is an unparalleled record because after them in NBA most winning list, we have Golden State Warriors and Chicago Bulls with only 6 Championships.

Related articles