NBA Single Game Point Record

Let’s find out the points record in an NBA game in the history of the league and the ranking of all the players who pursue this record

Wilt Chamberlain con il record di punti in una partita nba

When we talk about Score Records in an NBA game, we are talking about legendary performances, those single days in which the players have expressed themselves to the maximum and have remained in history.

Let’s find out the all time NBA single-game scoring leaders (Last update: 1 March 2023).

The Highest Points Ever Scored in One Game

The NBA points record in a game was achieved by Wilt Chamberlain who with the 100 points obtained in 1962 still remains unattainable, especially considering that Kobe Bryant is in second place with 19 points behind.

The legendary Wilt Chamberlain in the 1960s imposed a scary dominance that led him to be omnipresent in this special ranking, although he “only” places 7th in the NBA’s best scorers ever.

The NBA phenoms of today are still very far from being able to threaten this record (Donovan Mitchell and Damian Lillard “stopped” at 71), if you consider that Stephen Curry scored 62 points, while LeBron James and James Harden are currently stuck at a personal best of 61 points in a game. However, there are several players who have stopped at 60, including Bradley Beal and Jayson Tatum.

List of NBA single-game scoring leaders

1Wilt Chamberlain1001962Philadelphia WarriorsNew York Knicks169–147
2Kobe Bryant812006Los Angeles LakersToronto Raptors122–104
3Wilt Chamberlain781961Philadelphia WarriorsLos Angeles Lakers147–151
4Wilt Chamberlain731962Philadelphia WarriorsChicago Packers135–117
Wilt Chamberlain731962San Francisco WarriorsNew York Knicks127–111
David Thompson731978Denver NuggetsDetroit Pistons137–139
7Wilt Chamberlain721962San Francisco WarriorsLos Angeles Lakers115–127
8Elgin Baylor711960Los Angeles LakersNew York Knicks123–108
David Robinson711994San Antonio SpursLos Angeles Clippers112–97
Donovan Mitchell712023Cleveland CavsChicago Bulls145-134
Damian Lillard712023Portland Trail BlazersHouston Rockets131-114
10Wilt Chamberlain701963San Francisco WarriorsSyracuse Nationals148–163
Devin Booker702017Phoenix SunsBoston Celtics120–130
12Michael Jordan691990Chicago BullsCleveland Cavaliers117–113
13Wilt Chamberlain681967Philadelphia 76ersChicago Bulls143–123
Pete Maravich681977New Orleans JazzNew York Knicks124–107
15Wilt Chamberlain671961Philadelphia WarriorsNew York Knicks135–126
Wilt Chamberlain671962Philadelphia WarriorsSt. Louis Hawks121–128
Wilt Chamberlain671962Philadelphia WarriorsNew York Knicks135–149
Wilt Chamberlain671963San Francisco WarriorsLos Angeles Lakers129–134
Wilt Chamberlain661969Los Angeles LakersPhoenix Suns134–116
20Wilt Chamberlain651962Philadelphia WarriorsCincinnati Royals132–152
Wilt Chamberlain651962Philadelphia WarriorsSt. Louis Hawks147–137
Wilt Chamberlain651966Philadelphia 76ersLos Angeles Lakers132–125
Kobe Bryant652007Los Angeles LakersPortland Trail Blazers116–111
24Elgin Baylor641959Minneapolis LakersBoston Celtics136–115
Rick Barry641974Golden State WarriorsPortland Trail Blazers143–120
Michael Jordan641993Chicago BullsOrlando Magic124–128
27Joe Fulks631949Philadelphia WarriorsIndianapolis Jets108–87
Elgin Baylor631961Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia Warriors151–147
Jerry West631962Los Angeles LakersNew York Knicks129–121
Wilt Chamberlain631962San Francisco WarriorsLos Angeles Lakers118–120
Wilt Chamberlain631964San Francisco WarriorsPhiladelphia 76ers117–128
George Gervin631978San Antonio SpursNew Orleans Jazz132–153
Michael Jordan631986Chicago BullsBoston Celtics131–135
34Wilt Chamberlain621962Philadelphia WarriorsBoston Celtics136–145
Wilt Chamberlain621962Philadelphia WarriorsSt. Louis Hawks136–130
Wilt Chamberlain621962Philadelphia WarriorsSyracuse Nationals139–132
Wilt Chamberlain621963San Francisco WarriorsNew York Knicks123–103
Wilt Chamberlain621964San Francisco WarriorsCincinnati Royals122–106
Wilt Chamberlain621966Philadelphia 76ersSan Francisco Warriors135–125
Tracy McGrady622004Orlando MagicWashington Wizards108–99
Kobe Bryant622005Los Angeles LakersDallas Mavericks112–90
Carmelo Anthony622014New York KnicksCharlotte Bobcats125–96
Stephen Curry622021Golden State WarriorsPortland Trail Blazers137-122
44George Mikan611952Minneapolis LakersRochester Royals91–81
Wilt Chamberlain611961Philadelphia WarriorsChicago Packers135–113
Wilt Chamberlain611962Philadelphia WarriorsSt. Louis Hawks139–121
Wilt Chamberlain611962Philadelphia WarriorsChicago Packers128–119
Elgin Baylor611962Los Angeles LakersBoston Celtics126–121
Wilt Chamberlain611962San Francisco WarriorsCincinnati Royals139–143
Wilt Chamberlain611962San Francisco WarriorsSyracuse Nationals136–124
Wilt Chamberlain611962San Francisco WarriorsSt. Louis Hawks130–110
Michael Jordan611987Chicago BullsDetroit Pistons125–120
Michael Jordan611987Chicago BullsAtlanta Hawks114–117
Karl Malone611990Utah JazzMilwaukee Bucks144–96
Shaquille O’Neal612000Los Angeles LakersLos Angeles Clippers123–103
Kobe Bryant612009Los Angeles LakersNew York Knicks126–117
LeBron James612014Miami HeatCharlotte Bobcats124–107
James Harden612019Houston RocketsNew York Knicks114–110
James Harden612019Houston RocketsSan Antonio Spurs111–105
Damian Lillard612020Portland Trail BlazersGolden State Warriors129–124
Damian Lillard612020Portland Trail BlazersDallas Mavericks134–131
62Wilt Chamberlain601961Philadelphia WarriorsLos Angeles Lakers138–117
Wilt Chamberlain601961Philadelphia WarriorsLos Angeles Lakers123–118
Wilt Chamberlain601969Los Angeles LakersCincinnati Royals126–113
Bernard King601984New York KnicksNew Jersey Nets114–120
Larry Bird601985Boston CelticsAtlanta Hawks126–115
Tom Chambers601990Phoenix SunsSeattle SuperSonics121–95
Allen Iverson602005Philadelphia 76ersOrlando Magic112–99
Gilbert Arenas602006Washington WizardsLos Angeles Lakers147–141
Kobe Bryant602007Los Angeles LakersMemphis Grizzlies121–119
Kobe Bryant602016Los Angeles LakersUtah Jazz101–96
Klay Thompson602016Golden State WarriorsIndiana Pacers142–106
James Harden602018Houston RocketsOrlando Magic114–107
Kemba Walker602018Charlotte HornetsPhiladelphia 76ers119–122
Damian Lillard602019Portland Trail BlazersBrooklyn Nets115–119
James Harden602019Houston RocketsAtlanta Hawks158–111
Bradley Beal602021Washington WizardsPhiladelphia 76ers136-141
Jayson Tatum602021Boston CelticsSan Antonio Spurs143-140
Karl-Anthony Towns602022Minnesota TimberwolvesSan Antonio Spurs149-139
Kyrie Irving602022Brooklyn NetsOrlando Magic150-108
Luka Doncic602022Dallas MavericksNew York Knicks126-121
Damian Lillard602023Portland Trail BalzersUtah Jazz134-124
In bold players still active

Last record for points scored in an NBA game

The latest player to deliver a legendary performance is Damian Lillard, who scored an impressive 71 points in the Portland Trail Blazers-Houston Rockets game on February 27, 2023, ending with a score of 131-114.

This score has placed him in the 8th position of all time alongside Elgin Baylor, David Robinson, and Donovan Mitchell.

To celebrate this historic achievement, we at Dunkest have created two t-shirts dedicated to Dame Time, now available on Etsy.

Related articles